Book - The Blood Strand

The blood strand cover

Titan Books announce the start of new Nordic-noir crime series of novels from Chris Ould...

Released on 16th February in paperback and e-book, The Blood Strand expertly melds police procedural action with personal exploration to create a classic contemporary crime novel.  Set against the isolated beauty of the Faroe Islands award-winning screenwriter Chris Ould (The Bill, Soldier Soldier, Casualty and Hornblower) draws on his incredible writing credentials to create a lyrical and gripping tale of murder, family and self-exploration.

Having been taken from the Faroes as a small child by his mother, Jan Reyna is now a British police detective, and the islands are foreign to him. But he is drawn back when his estranged father is found unconscious, a shotgun by his side and someone else’s blood in his car. Then a man’s body is found on an isolated beach. Is Reyna’s father responsible? Unwillingly drawn on the quest for answers, as the stakes start to get higher Renya’s investigations lead him closer to a past he only half-remembers.

“The land was traced with black strata of rock as if the long-buried bones of the hills were gradually being exposed…”

Reminiscent of Peter May’s modern classic Lewis trilogy, The Blood Strand is the start of a contemporary, new crime series that will appeal to fans of Henning Mankell and Ann Cleaves.

CHRIS OULD is a BAFTA award winning screenwriter who has worked on TV shows including The Bill, Soldier Soldier, Casualty and Hornblower. Chris has previously published two adult novels, and the second of his series of Young Adult crime novels, The Killing Street, was published by Usborne in June 2013.

Image - Titan Books