SotD - Johnny Marr

Johnny Marr has released his much anticipated double album, Fever Dreams Pts 1-4 via BMG. Listen to a live performance of the opening track Spirit, Power and Soul...

Press Release

Marr released the first part of the album, Fever Dreams Pt 1, on October 15th, 2021. It was his first new music since his UK Top 10 solo album The Comet (2018) and featured four tracks including 'Spirit Power and Soul,' 'Receiver,' 'All These Days' and 'Ariel.'

This was shortly followed up with the next installation Fever Dreams Pt 2, released December 17th. This staggered approach to an album release has built excitement around the release and is indicative of Marr’s diverse and innovative approach.

Said the legendary singer-songwriter and guitarist: "There’s a set of influences and a very broad sound that I’ve been developing – really since getting out of The Smiths until now, and I hear it in this record. There are so many strands of music in it. We didn’t do that consciously, but I think I’ve got a vocabulary of sound. And I feel very satisfied that I’ve been able to harness it."

Fusing the language of soul music with his roots as a “Mancunian glam rocker”, Fever Dreams Pts 1-4 reflects Marr's multifaceted past, but takes his music somewhere startlingly new.

The 16-track double album is available in a limited edition white vinyl, cassettes, and signed prints from Marr's official store as well as a limited edition turquoise vinyl exclusive to independent record stores.

Johnny Marr began his prolific career with The Smiths, founding a legacy as one of the most influential songwriters and guitarists in British independent music. His acclaimed solo career has seen multiple Top Ten albums and continued collaborations with some of the most celebrated artists in contemporary music, including the Talking Heads, Electronic, Modest Mouse, The Cribs, and The Avalanches. Marr co-wrote the score for the new James Bond film No Time To Die with Hans Zimmer, including the film’s title track of the same name, written with Billie Eilish and Finneas.

TRACKLIST (vinyl) -

Disc One
Side 1
1. Spirit Power and Soul
2. Receiver
3. All These Days
4. Ariel

Side 2
1. Lightning People
2. Hideaway Girl
3. Sensory Street
4. Tenement Time

Disc 2
Side 1
1. The Speed of Love
2. Night and Day
3. Counter Clock World
4. Rubicon

Side 2
1. God's Gift
2. Ghoster
3. The Whirl
4. Human
Powered by Blogger.