Audio - BBC Audio Drama Awards 2022

The winners of this year's BBC Audio Drama Awards have been announced. Here's the full list...

Press Release

Actors Miriam Margolyes, Juliet Aubrey and comic Bridget Christie were amongst the winners of this year’s BBC Audio Drama Awards, hosted by Andy Zaltzman and presented at the BBC Radio Theatre in London with a live audience for the first time since the start of the pandemic.

Miriam Margolyes was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, accepting her trophy via video link from Australia she said: “I cannot tell you have thrilled I am to be given this award.” She added: “I’ve done my best work in radio, I shall love it ‘til I die.” Her radio roles with the BBC began in 1965, her work includes The Betty Witherspoon Show for Radio 2 in the 1970s through to recent performances in Radio 4’s intergenerational comedy Charlotte and Lilian – just two of many in a widely acclaimed and continuing career.

Magical, contemporary gothic thriller Dead Weather by Hattie Taylor wowed this year’s judging panel. The title and its cast secured three prizes - Best Original Single Drama, Best Actress and Best Supporting Performance for Juliet Aubrey and Claire Price respectively.

In the best actor category Edmund Davies was recognised for his role as Jamie in the series about young parents with learning disabilities, The Pursuits of Darleen Fyles.

Comedy trophies were presented to Bridget Christie for Mortal, her series taking a heart-warming dive into some of life’s more difficult questions. Podcast Sound Heap and its collective of comic talents scored the Best Sketch gong.

The Outstanding Contribution Award was presented to Radio 4’s departing Commissioning Editor for Comedy, Sioned Wiliam. From her own performances in a sketch comedy duo alongside Rebecca Front to producing and commissioning, Sioned Wiliam continues to be a passionate champion of comedy, especially in audio from. At Radio 4 she has welcomed in new talents including Rosie Jones, Daliso Chaponda, Alex Edelman, Lost Voice Guy, Mae Martin and more; as well as providing new vehicles for the likes of Alexei Sayle, French and Saunders, Bill Bailey, Joanna Lumley and Roger Allam.

Charlotte Moore, BBC’s Chief Content Officer says: “Tonight’s awards recognise how all of the talented individuals - both in front of and behind the microphones and mixing desks - make audio the booming medium it is today. Thank you for your commitment to this wonderful genre, and for delighting the millions of listeners who tune in, week after week.”

Here's the full list of winners

Best Actor

Edmund Davies, The Pursuits of Darleen Fyles, director Pauline Harris for BBC Radio 4

Best Actress

Juliet Aubrey, Dead Weather, director Nicolas Jackson, Afonica for BBC Radio 4

Best Supporting Performance

Claire Price, Dead Weather, director Nicolas Jackson, Afonica for BBC Radio 4

The Marc Beeby Award for Best Debut Performance

Saran Morgan, Release, director John Norton BBC Radio 4

Best Original Single Drama

Dead Weather by Hattie Naylor, producer Nicolas Jackson, Afonica for BBC Radio 4

Best Adaptation

The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling, adapted by Ayeesha Menon, producers Nadir Khan & Ayeesha Menon, Goldhawk Productions for BBC Radio 4

Best Original Series or Serial

Life Lines by Al Smith, producer Sally Avens for BBC Radio 4

Best Scripted Comedy (Longform)

Bridget Christie: Mortal by Bridget Christie, producer Carl Cooper, BBC Studios for BBC Radio 4

Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)

Sound Heap by John-Luke Roberts, with Cariad Lloyd, Charlie George, Deborah Frances-White, Gareth Gwynn, Katherine Parkinson, Katy Brand, Ken Cheng, Kieran Hodgson, Paddy Gervers, Ruth Bratt, Saima Ferdows, Sooz Kempner, Amy Gledhill & Chris Cantrill, Tom Allen, Tom Neenan and Toussaint Douglass, producer Ed Morrish, Lead Mojo

Best Use of Sound

The Meaning of Zong, sound by Jon Nicholls, Jonquil Panting, Giles Terera, producer Jonquil Panting, Jonx Productions for BBC Radio 3

Best European Drama

The Lion by Martin Algus, adapted by Andres Noormets, producer Andres Noormets, ERR Estonian Public Broadcasting

Best Podcast or Online Audio Drama

Passenger List Series 2 by John Scott Dryden, Lauren Shipman, Meghan Fitzmartin, Janina Matthewson, Sarah Lotz, Mark Henry Phillips, producers John Scott Dryden and Emma Hearn, Goldhawk Productions for BBC Radio 4

Lifetime Achievement

Miriam Margolyes

Outstanding Contribution

Sioned Wiliam

Imison Award 2022 (given by the Society of Authors to celebrate the best in new writing for the medium of audio drama)

The Lemonade Lads by Faebian Averies, producer James Robinson for BBC Radio 4

Tinniswood Award 2022 (presented annually by the Society of Authors and Writers’ Guild of Great Britain for the best original audio drama script of the year.)

Blis-ta by Sonya Hale, producer Mimi Findlay, Clean Break for Spotify

Image - Miriam Margolyes (Image: Jennifer Robertson - Kyte Photography)
Powered by Blogger.