Audio - BBC Audio Drama Awards 2017

The finalists for the BBC Audio Drama Awards 2017 have been announced...

This year they include nominations for The Archers, including Timothy Watson in the Best Actor category and Louiza Patikas for Best Actress, for Tracks, starring Romola Garai and for Emile Zola: Blood, Sex And Money, which stars Glenda Jackson.

Most interesting for us though is the hotly contested Best Online/Non Broadcast category, the winners of which will either be our friends at Big Finish or our friends at Bafflegab Productions!

The awards recognise the cultural significance, range and originality of audio drama, on air as well as online, and credit the creativity of the actors, writers, producers, sound designers and others who work within the field.

Each category is judged by a team of industry experts including actress Alison Steadman, journalist Baz Bamigboye, and producer Piers Plowright. Now in their sixth year, the Audio Drama Awards have previously recognised such luminaries as John Hurt, Neil Gaiman, Sir Ian McKellen and June Whitfield.

The winners will be announced in a ceremony hosted by Sir Lenny Henry on Sunday 29th January at the Radio Theatre in BBC Broadcasting House.

Full shortlisted entries are as follows:

Best Single Drama

Comment Is Free by James Fritz, producer Becky Ripley
Jump Blue by Hannah Silva, producers Nicolas Jackson & Steve Bond
The Sky Is Wider by Linda Marshall Griffiths, producer Nadia Molinari

Best Audio Drama (Series)

The Archers (Helen’s trial week) by Tim Stimpson, editor Sean O’Connor
Life Lines by Al Smith, producer Sally Avens
Tracks by Matthew Broughton, producers James Robinson, Helen Perry and Abigail le Fleming

Best Adaptation

Emile Zola: Blood, Sex And Money adapted by Oliver Emanuel, Martin Jameson, Lavinia Murray and Dan Rebellato, producers Gary Brown, Pauline Harris, Nadia Molinari, Polly Thomas, Kirsty Williams
Roald Dahl: Going Solo adapted by Lucy Catherine, producer Helen Perry
True West by Sam Shepard, adapted by John Peacock, producer Celia de Wolff

Best Actor

Robert Lindsay, A Play For The Heart
Danny Sapani, A Raisin In The Sun
Timothy Watson, The Archers

Best Actress

Christine Bottomley, The Sky Is Wider
Pippa Haywood, Tess In Winter
Louiza Patikas, The Archers

Best Supporting Actor/Actress

Ralph Ineson, Black Dog
Valene Kane, The Stroma Sessions
Joe Sims, Life Lines

Best Debut Performance from an actor or actress

Christina Ritter, North
Lee Rufford, The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Runner
Katie West, Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit

Best Use of Sound

Mary Rose, sound by Peter Ringrose, Ross Burman, Alison Craig, producer Abigail le Fleming
The Sky Is Wider, sound by Steve Brooke, producer Nadia Molinari
Tracks, sound by Nigel Lewis, producers James Robinson, Helen Perry & Abigail le Fleming

Best Scripted Comedy

Guilt Trip by Felicity Montagu, Olivia Nixon & Katherine Jakeways, producer Jane Berthoud
Secret Kebabs by Christine Entwisle, producer Kirsty Williams
The Strange Vanishing of Julian Quark by Tom Wainwright, producer Sasha Yevtushenko

Best Comedy with a Live Audience

Mae Martin’s Guide To 21st Century Sexuality by Mae Martin, producer Alex Smith
Mark Steel’s In Town: Stockport by Mark Steel, producer Carl Cooper
Robert Newman’s Entirely Accurate Encyclopaedia Of Evolution by Rob Newman, producer Jonathan Harvey

Best Online/non Broadcast

Baker’s End: The King Of Cats, Bafflegab Productions
Doctor Who: Absent Friends, Big Finish Productions
Torchwood: More Than This, Big Finish Productions

Imison Award for Best Audio Drama Script by a New Writer(Judges: Elizabeth-Anne Wheal, Stefan Buczacki, Jamila Gavin, Isla Gray, Christopher William Hill, Catherine Johnson, Marcy Kahan, Hilary Robinson and Mike Walker)

James Fritz for Comment Is Free
James Meek for The Virtues Of Oblivion
Jonny O’Neill for Community Service

Tinniswood Award for Best Audio Drama Script(Judges: Nicholas McInerny, Shelley Silas, Tim Stimpson)

Timothy X Atack for The Stroma Sessions
Oliver Emanuel for A History Of Paper
James Fritz for Comment Is Free

Image & Info - BBC
Powered by Blogger.