TV - WitcherCon


Yesterday saw Netflix and CDPR partner up to host the first ever WitcherCon event. Here's a few of the announcements from Stream 1...

Streamed globally via YouTube and Twitch, the event featured a number of interactive panels with The Witcher talent including Henry Cavill, Anya Chalotra, Freya Allan, Mimî M Khayisa, Paul Bullion, Lauren Schmidt Hissrich and Declan de Barra.


The main announcement was that Season 2 of Witcher is coming to Netflix on December 17th. As well as revealing the artwork (above) and teaser trailer (below), the panel members all added a bit of behind the scenes info on what's coming up, alongside some "first look" images from the series.

Lauren Schmidt Hissrich on the relationship between Geralt and Ciri: “At the end of Season 1, we have what I think is one of the sort of most emotional scenes that we've done, which is Geralt and Ciri finding each other after they've both been searching all season… And it seems like we've got a father figure and daughter figure, and everything's going to be perfect at that point, except for they've never met. And so it was really fun to start Season 2 thinking about, well, they're not a family yet. How do they grow to be one? What do you do if you are a person like Geralt, who has sworn he doesn't need anyone in the world whatsoever? And then he's presented with a girl who is now solely in his care. And we have Ciri, who's used to being under the care of people but has basically been running from everyone for an entire season and now being told that this person is going to take care of you. And so it was really fun to start Season 2 kind of them a little uncertain about how to be with each other, and they have to really grow into that. We wanted to make sure that felt like an authentic relationship, that they weren't just bonded at the very beginning.”


Freya Allan on whether we are going to see Ciri in training sequences this season: “[Training] was one of the things I was most excited about for Season 2, because I love doing all that. I love the stunt department. We have the best people involved, and they're so much fun and get the best out of you. But yes, Ciri begins training and it actually becomes one of her main kind of drives. She's very determined, and she really wants to become a great fighter and become a Witcher.”

Anya Chalotra on her favourite things about her character Yennefer: “I'd have to say, where there's a will, there's a way with her. She is a survivor, and I love that about her. That would be my favourite. But there's lots, there's many traits I love. We've become quite similar. We form each other, I think.”


Henry Cavill on the journey of his character Geralt of Rivia: “I played the Season One way deliberately, which was him out in the wilds and without the opportunity for vast swathes of dialogue. I thought it best to be the man who says less because that seems like he's thinking more. And that was the intention with that. But once you get into a scenario with Cirilla, and the Witchers and his home space and with those people who he already knows, I was of the opinion that you had to let him be verbose and be philosophical and speak more and be intellectual, because that's what he is. He's not just a big old white-haired brute.”


Lauren Schmidt Hissrich on new characters to Season 2: “There are so many characters that we're introducing in Season 2. We are getting to see Dijkstra for the first time and sort of the Redanian Kingdoms. I know a lot of fans are excited to meet Philippa for the first time, Codringher and Fenn, Rience, Nenneke. There's so many, but I would have to say Vesemir is the one I'm looking most forward to our audience meeting. Vesemir is so integral to the story that we're telling this season. Obviously, we're returning to Kaer Morhen for the first time, and in a season that is about Geralt becoming a father to Ciri, it felt so important to meet who his father figure was. And you end up with this multigenerational story because Vesemir and Ciri have a story as well, and it does start to feel like, "Oh, all of these people are meant to be interacting and learning from each other and fighting with each other."”



As well as panels, the event included special short-form content, musical interludes, and a host of exclusive surprises and more never-before-seen insights from The Witcher live action series as well as adding more info to the forthcoming anime feature, The Witcher: Nightmare of the Wolf which premieres on Netflix on 23rd August.


We don't know too much more about it yet but here's the announcement trailer for it.



Other "behind the scenes" featurettes that were shared in the course of the Con included:

Converging Destinies: The Witcher’s Yennefer of Vengerberg and Princess Cirilla of Cintra experienced extraordinary changes and challenges in Season 1, but their evolution is only just beginning. Actors Anya Chalotra and Freya Allan look back at their characters’ journeys so far, and preview what’s in store for Season 2.




A sneak peek at the logo and episode titles for Season 2 of Witcher:



A look Inside Kaer Morhen: Throughout its many portrayals in the games and on-screen, Kaer Morhen has long been the sanctuary of Geralt and his witcher brothers; but what's the history behind this ancient castle and its place in witcher mythology? Here’s everything you need to know about the beloved home of the Wolf School!



There were also a few "meet the team behind the scenes" videos called Humans of the Continent.

It takes a village to build the Continent. Meet the talented production crew who are responsible for bringing The Witcher to life behind the scenes, as they share their insights into their eclectic and sometimes surprising jobs.

Humans of the Continent Series: Master Armourer: Master Armourer Nick Jeffries takes us behind the scenes of the armoury department and some key weapons of the series.



Humans of the Continent Series: Puppeteers: A very entertaining behind the scenes insight from the people in green behind the new and favourite monsters of The Witcher, from Matt Fraser and Dan Gregory.



and Humans of the Continent Series: Lens Tech: A fascinating look at the intricate costume detail found in the depth of a stare, from lens technician Ashruti Patel



If you have the time and the inclination you can watch the whole of the WitcherCon stream 2 which ran overnight below for even more. We're promised news on:

The Witcher Season 2: Deck of Destiny: 6:06pm PT/10:06am JST/2:06am BST 

Destinies collide when the cast and showrunner of Netflix's The Witcher draw cards from an enigmatic deck of fan questions that will determine the path of the panel and the immediate fate of the guests. But these are no ordinary cards - prepare for surprise reveals, backstage insights, and a dash of chaos as our panelists take us through their journey of filming Season 2. 

CD Projekt Red’s The Witcher: Beyond Video Games: 6:41pm PT/10:41am JST/2:41am BST 

From detective noir to dark horror — all the way to the Old World and beyond, prepare to experience The Witcher’s expanded universe with the latest details on the upcoming comic books and board game inspired by the franchise! 

CD Projekt Red’s Memories from the Path: Stories Behind The Witcher Games - Part 2: 6:53pm PT/10:53am JST/2:53am BST 

For over 13 years, the Witcher series of games has captured the imagination of gamers worldwide. Now, the developers behind the games discuss how they brought their immersive stories to life — before revisiting old memories, uncovering forgotten artefacts, and reminiscing about their favorite moments from the franchise. 

Geralt of T-Rivia: 7:10pm PT/11:10 JST/3:10am BST 

It’s a meeting of the Witcher masterminds as key creators of the Witcher games and The Witcher Netflix series team up to test their knowledge of the wider Witcher universe. In this pub quiz-style game, behind-the-scenes tidbits and spoilery sneak peeks are prized just as much as the correct answers.

And finally

Tales from the White Wolf: A Conversation With Henry Cavill: 7:58pm PT/11:58am JST/3:58am BST 

To close out WitcherCon, fans will hear from Geralt of Rivia himself, Henry Cavill, who will sit down with moderator Josh Horowitz (MTV & Comedy Central host) for an in-depth conversation about fantasy, destiny, and the wider Witcher Universe. The White Wolf may even have a surprise or two in store…


Images - Netflix